• 00


  • 00


  • 00


  • 00



TSB Bank Arena and Shed 6, Wellington

Excellence awards

The LGNZ EXCELLENCE Awards recognise and celebrate excellent performance by councils in promoting and growing the well-being of their communities.

The Awards are judged on a combination of general and specific criteria, incorporating best practice and components from the CouncilMARKā„¢ excellence programme's four priority areas.

It is important to note that councils who have yet to participate in the Programme are at this stage still eligible to apply for the EXCELLENCE Awards.

Background and scope
With the introduction of the Local Government (Community Well-being) Amendment Bill, and the four well-beings, the EXCELLENCE Awards for 2019 have been reshaped. This is also as a direct response to feedback received on the awards categories and the application process from judges and councils.

The categories for 2019 are as below:
  • EXCELLENCE Award for Social Well-being;
  • MartinJenkins EXCELLENCE Award for Economic Well-being;
  • Air New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Environmental Well-being; and
  • Creative New Zealand EXCELLENCE Award for Cultural Well-being.

In addition, one or more individuals will be awarded the Te Tari Taiwhenua Internal Affairs EXCELLENCE Award for Outstanding Contribution to Local Government, and Fulton Hogan will also select the Local EXCELLENCE Award from among the finalists.


Awards timeline

Process and timeline detailed below

EXCELLENCE Awards launched 
Entrants complete Expression of Interest form
22 February to 22 March 2019
LGNZ to compile EOI forms for assessment
25 - 29 March 2019
Judges select shortlist
3 April 2019
LGNZ to notify shortlist
5 April 2019
Shortlist complete full application
8 April to 10 May 2019
LGNZ to compile applications for assessment
13 - 17 May 2019
Judges select award recipients and Sponsor selects overall category recipient     
22 May 2019
LGNZ to notify finalists
23 May 2019
Award recipients notified under embargo 
23 May 2019
Finalists publicly announced
27 May 2019
Award recipient videos created with LGNZ
June 2019
Conference dinner and EXCELLENCE Awards recipients announced 8 July 2019

NB: School holidays Saturday 13 April - Sunday 28 April (includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and ANZAC day).

Click here to download full details on general and award criteria, eligibility and how to apply. 

Click here to download the expression of interest form.

Click here to download the application form for finalists.



Platinum sponsors