logo irspm

logo irspm
logo victoria university wellington

XXIII Annual Conference of the International Research Society for Public Management

ReNewing Public Management for Stewardship, Innovation and Impact

16 - 18 April 2019, Wellington

Register Now


Click here to download a PDF of all the panels combined into one document. 


(P1) Advancing governance networks theory and working with social complexity

(P2) Behavioral and experimental public administration

(P3) Big-data research in public administration

(P4) Bridging public management and organization theories 

(P5) Can there be stewardship of public infrastructure assets?

(P6) Collective leadership and collaborative governance for public value co-creation

(P7) Critical perspectives in emergency services management

(P8) Design-led approaches to renewing public management and governance

(P9) Disruptive technologies: Governance, public services and regulation

(P10) Dividing government and designing public service organisations

(P11) Experimental governance 

(P12) Expertise and evidence-informed policy-making

(P13) Innovation in education and training in public management: Outcomes and impacts

(P14) Lessons from Asian public management 

(P15) Making politics visible – using interpretive methods to explore the politics involved in public sector innovation

(P16) PMRA-Sponsored panel: Management and organizational performance in comparative perspective 

(P17) Public management and civil society: Renewing and reforming relationships 

(P18) Public management and the environment: Governing for sustainability or square pegs in round holes? 

(P19) Public policy and public financial management in small island states

(P20) Public-private partnerships for infrastructure: Impact, logics and stewardship? 

(P21) Public service ethics for the 21st century

(P22) Public service innovation: The third sector, social enterprise and community initiatives 

(P23) Reforming higher education organisations: The multidimensionality of performance, and the role of accounting and control systems 

(P24) ReNewing public sector implementation: capability, accountability and "making stuff happen"

(P25) Social Impact Bonds, Social Investment and Investing for Wellbeing

(P26) Stakeholder-reported outcome measurement in health care sector

(P27) The impact of digitalization in ReNewing Public Management

(P28) The use of mixed methods in public administration: Lessons learned, future directions

(P29) Trust-based public management - towards stewardship and innovative cultural change 


(P30) Special interest group: Public sector human resource management 

(P31) Special interest group: Public service motivation

(P32) Special interest group: The practice panel: Connecting researchers and practitioners for improved outcomes

(P33) Special interest group: Healthcare management 

(P34) Special interest group: New Researchers Panel

(P35)  Special interest group: Local Governance 

(P36) Special interest group: Accounting and accountability 

(P37) Special interest group: Governing hybrid organisations


(P38) Open panel

Paper guidelines can be found here. 

If you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Olivia Lynch
Conference Innovators | olivia@conference.nz
On behalf of the Organising and Scientific Committees 

Conference Co-chairs: Karl Lofgren and Michael Macaulay, Victoria University of Wellington
Local Organising Committee: Girol Karacaoglu, Elizabeth Eppel, Lyne Todd, Lynn Barlow, Wonhyuk Cho

Key dates 

11 September – 31 October 2018  Call for abstracts open
5 December 2018 Notification of paper proposal decisions
5 December 2018 – 19 February 2019 Early bird registration open
19 March 2019  Papers due
16 – 18 April 2019 IRSPM 2019 Conference

Scientific committee

Chair: A/Prof Karl Lofgren, Victoria University of Wellington
A/Prof Michael Macaulay, Victoria University of Wellington
Prof Jenny Lewis, Melbourne University
A/Prof Helen Dickinson, University of New South Wales, Canberra
A/Prof Catherine Althaus, Australia New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG)
A/Prof Paul Fawcett, Canberra University
Prof Yilja Jing, Fudan University
Dr Frank Ohemeng, Ottawa University
Prof Chris Ansell, University of California, Berkeley
Prof Richard Walker, City University of Hong Kong
Prof Jon Pierre, Gothenburg University/Melbourne University
Prof Albert Meyer, Utrecht University
A/Prof Anna Thomasson, Lund University
Prof Stephen Osborne, University of Edinburgh
Prof Susan Phillips, Carleton University
A/Prof Birgit Grüb-Martin, Johannes Kepler University